My top 5 buys as a new mum

By the end of my pregnancy, I was really craving walking into a clothes shop to have a good old fashioned browse and was very much looking forward to making my first purchases as a no-longer-pregnant shopper.

My romantic notion of a gentle stroll into Zara/topshop/h&m with baby in tow (looking adorable sleeping in the baby carrier) to peruse their latest offerings quickly became fiction as I realised that shopping with a little one is actually pretty tricky. And my priorities had clearly changed; ‘going into town’ seemed a million miles away from the newborn baby haze of being safely cocooned at home.

In the early days, it felt such an achievement getting out of the house and not feeling anxious about venturing into big, busy places. I would be making essential purchases only. Although this comprised a number of practical items, I didn’t want to forego all sense of style. Forthwith are my top 5 couldn’t do without post-baby buys…

image

Yellow waterproof jacket (Seasalt), Cross-body bag (Radley), Trainers (Stan Smith Adidas Originals) and three other absolute essentials…teething necklace (Organic Mama), Stripey t-shirt (Primark) and Black skinnies (Gap)

One: A stylish waterproof raincoat- hood essential! Umbrella-holding and pram-pushing don’t really go together and unless I wore my outdoor (very practical but not stylish) waterproof, I was going to get wet. To be fair, I had been lusting after a yellow fisherman’s-style number long before pregnancy, and found I could justify it with baby on the scene.

Two: Go-with-everything, comfortable fashion trainers. As a new mum, one does a lot of pavement pounding. Not just to get the baby to sleep (motion is lotion in our household) but it’s the easiest way to get around without faffing about with car seats etc. and the best way to shed some of the baby weight. I have widened my trainer repertoire by two or three pairs and wear a pair most days.

Three: A small cross-body leather bag. My pre-baby handbag was pretty big. And heavy. In fact, it probably weighed as much as my newborn daughter herself, if not more. I used to fill it just because I could and carried around all manner of things, ‘just in case’. My new streamlined mini bag is not only much better for my back/shoulders, I no longer need to rummage for an age to find my keys. And, most importantly, it is pram-pushing, baby-carrying, sling-wearing friendly.

Four: Dry shampoo. I know, it’s been around for ages and I realise I’m late to this party but it has definitely made my life easier and me a little happier. I can now shower safe in the knowledge that if I need to jump out quickly For my daughter, and I haven’t had time to wash my hair, I can always give it a quick refresh and add some body with dry shampoo.

image

Falling asleep feeding with no time to blow dry = ‘mum hair’

Five: Lipstick. It’s not as though I’d never worn lipstick before, but on the few occasions that I have ventured out since my daughter has born, it’s a quick coat of lipstick that has made me both feel and look party-ready, quickly. Besides, it also acts as a great decoy from the giant grey bags that one has under the eyes ALL THE TIME and makes it look as though you have made a much greater effort than you actually have. Just don’t get it on your teeth- this totally undoes all of the above!

Aside from these five, there are of course a few other essentials that I rarely leave the house without…next post coming soon!

Mamathrift

x

 

Leave a comment